Facebook Twittter LinkedIn

Board of Directors

Canada West Foundation is governed by its Board of Directors. The Board provides direction on the current and future research and community engagement activities of the Foundation. The Board meets four times a year, and is comprised of prominent western Canadians who are committed to the social and economic well being of western Canada.

Board of Directors 2014


Geoff Plant, Chair
Counsel, Gall Legge Grant & Munroe LLP, former Attorney General of British Columbia and Minister Responsible for Treaty Negotiations
Vancouver, BC

Dylan Jones, President & CEO
Canada West Foundation
Calgary, AB

Brenda Eaton, Vice Chair, BC
Chair, BC Housing Management Commission
Victoria, BC

Charlie Fischer, Vice Chair, AB
Retired President & CEO, Nexen Inc.
Calgary, AB

H. Sanford Riley, Vice Chair, MB
President & CEO, Richardson Financial Group
Winnipeg, MB

Patricia Youzwa, Vice Chair, SK
Retired President & CEO, Sask Power
Regina, SK

A.R. (Bob) Linner, Secretary/Treasurer
Retired City Manager, City of Regina
Regina, SK  

Honorary Chair

James K. Gray
Co-Founder, Canadian Hunter Exploration Ltd.
Calgary, AB

Chair Emeritus

James (Jim) Dinning
Chairman of the Board, Western Financial Group
Calgary, AB  

Board of Directors

Theresa Arsenault
Pushor Mitchell LLP
Kelowna, BC

Ray Crossley
PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP
Calgary, AB

Jim Eldridge
Special Advisor, Intergovernmental Relations, Government of Manitoba
Winnipeg, MB

Ida Goodreau
Retired President & CEO Vancouver Coastal Health
Vancouver, BC

Diane Gray
President & CEO, CentrePort Canada Inc.
Winnipeg, MB

Tom Huffaker
Manager of Public and Government Affairs, Imperial Oil
Calgary, AB

Charles Jago
Board Chair, Northern Health
Prince George, BC

Oryssia Lennie
Former Deputy Minister, Western Economic Diversification Canada
Edmonton, AB

Charles N. Loewen
Co-Chair, Manitoba Manufacturers Hall of Fame
Winnipeg, MB

Dr. Janice MacKinnon
Professor of Public Policy, University of Saskatchewan
Saskatoon, SK

Gary Merasty
Vice-President, Corporate Social Responsibility, Cameco Corporation
Saskatoon, SK 

James A. Richardson
President & Director, Westmead Limited
Winnipeg, MB

Gail Surkan
former Mayor, City of Red Deer
Red Deer, AB


Directors Emeritus

James (Jim) Carr
Founding President & CEO, Business Council of Manitoba
Winnipeg, MB

Bill Deyell
Nanoose Bay, BC

David Elton
Calgary, AB

Brian Felesky
Counsel, Felesky Flynn LLP
Calgary, AB

Rt. Hon. Edward Schreyer

Dr. Robert Westbury
Chair, Telus Edmonton Community Board
Edmonton, AB